

DWP Group Elections 2024 Nominate Left Unity candidates

Attached to this email is the list of Left Unity recommendations for the 2024 DWP Group elections and block-vote elections. These candidates constitute a diverse cross section of dedicated representatives from right across the group. They are committed to continuing to build a strong workplace focussed, organising group within our union, that can deliver industrially.

The current Left Unity leadership of the GEC is proud of its record on behalf of members, which includes delivering the four largest turnouts in national ballots the group has ever had, preventing hundreds of compulsory redundancies, negotiating two of the largest pay rises for our lowest paid members in decades, and leading the group through the pandemic, negotiating some of the best member-focused policies in the public sector.

A Left Unity-led GEC consulted with branches to highlight areas in DWP that could deliver sustained, targeted paid industrial action during the ongoing national campaign. This action, repeated across other groups and alongside national strike days, won more money for members, including the biggest percentage increase for our AO members many can recall, doubling the remit on offer and preventing a 60% cut to our compensation scheme. This strategy limited the financial burden on our members amidst the financial crisis, and put increased pressure on government and our employer.

The Left Unity leadership of our group have also led the response to the staffing crisis in DWP, taking our campaign direct to government, while leading the call to organise for an industrial response if necessary, and robustly opposing the Jobcentre innovation pilot.

The candidates standing in these elections are committed to working with the national union, and newly elected General Secretary, Fran Heathcote, in devising the strategy for the next phase of the national campaign, one that can win more for members, both now and in the future, while ramping up our own campaign for more staff.

Left Unity has a proud record of winning on equality issues, equality being at the forefront of our bargaining agenda, and continue to negotiate improvements to HR policies, ensuring no member is left behind.

We will continue the work of the current Left Unity group leadership, in rolling out activist training to build our organising capacity in the workplace, and increase engagement with our members on the key issues that matter to them.

Please nominate all of the candidates listed through your branch AGM and support them in the group elections that follow.

Nominate for a leadership that listens to you, will fight on your behalf, and lead from the front on the issues that matter.

Nominate Left Unity!

DWP Group Left Unity Slate 2024:

President (x1)

Angela Grant

Vice Presidents (x4)

Martin Cavanagh Marie McDonough

Ian Pope

Mohammed Shafiq

Assistant Secretaries (x7)

Moe Brasier Dave Burke **Bridget Corcoran** Lorna Kennedy Jocelyn McFarlane Liz McGachey Sarah Morton

Organiser (x1)

Mark Byers

Editor (x1)

James Meller

Treasurer (x1)

Linda Edwards

Group Executive Committee (x17)

Nasrin Ahmed Ryan Bell Dave Boucher

Saul Cahill

Davina Camadoo

Levoy Getton

Harminder Lothian

Colin Mack

Kevin McCafferty

Lindsay Miles

Sammie Mulcahy

Joe Perry

Jo Pritchard

Oli Rahman

Carol Revell

Tom Westgarth

Dylan Wilson

Standing Orders Committee (x2)

Mark Edwards John Livingstone Ed Board (x3)

Emily Boucher Rachael Watts Nicky Wild

Group Equality Committee (x12)

Grace Bellerby **Emily Boucher** Chris Clarke Jen Dobison

Lesley Glendinning

Sean Green Jackie Morton Christine Oliver Georgia Stokoe Colin Turner Lynn Tyler Nicky Wild

Group Women's Advisory Committee (x12)

Grace Bellerby **Emily Boucher** Chris Clarke Linda Edwards Lesley Glendenning Angie Jukes Jackie Morton Christine Oliver Viv Perkins Georgia Stokoe

Lynn Tyler Nicky Wild

Group Black Members Committee (x6)

Davina Camadoo Levov Getton Sean Harding

Group LGBT+ Committee (x12)

Eirian Anwyn Jen Dobison Sean Harding Lexie Russell Georgia Stokoe Colin Turner

Group YMAC (x12)

Saul Cahill Jo Pritchard